Students garner 16 scholastic journalism awards

From Staff Reports

Seven NDP students were rated “superior” writers and broadcasters at the annual Arizona Scholastic Press Association’s awards presentation Tuesday. The literary magazine and online newspaper were honored as tops in the state in the General Excellence contest. NDP journalists garnered a total of 14 individual awards.

The Perspective literary magazine won first place in the General Excellence category for the second year in a row, and The Seraphim won second place for General Excellence in the Online Newspaper competition also for the second year, tying with Brophy College Prep for the honor. The Seraphim writers received seven separate awards. The NDP Live! club members also won in seven categories in the broadcasting competition. This is the first time NDP has entered the broadcasting contest.

Receiving the highest honors—superior ratings–in broadcasting were senior Christopher Cadwell and Ben Davis, Class of 2018, in the news anchor category as well as Davis in the intro and outro category.

In the newspaper competition, superior awards went to Sarah Ziemann, review writing; Rose Tuft, and Andrew Lindbloom, feature writing; and Anna Sera, news in-depth reporting.

Newspaper staffers who earned awards for excellence were Sera and Samantha Torre, news stories. Davis won an excellence award in the broadcasting promo category as well as an honorable mention in the commentary category. The NDP Live! club received an excellence award for its Rehab Plus commercial.

Honorable mention awards also went to junior Kendra Niderost, newspaper editorial; Olivia Shaw, broadcasting prom; and the NDP Live! club for The Thumb commercial. With the exception of Cadwell and Niderost, all were seniors last year.

To recognize excellence in scholastic journalism and to educate high school journalists, the AIPA convention is held each fall at the ASU Memorial Union. This year’s keynote speaker was Steve Irvin, journalist and anchor at ABC 15. Mark Lodato, associate dean at ASU’s Walter Cronkite School, delivered the opening address.

Three NDP faculty/staff and two students were among the 32 presenters who conducted sessions for the more than 600 Arizona students who attended the convention. Jayce Henderson, NDP Live! moderator and communications specialist, presented “How to Produce Captivating Video Content to Tell Your School’s Story.” Newspaper adviser Jan Carteaux presented “Head to Hand: Finding Stories and Telling Them,” and juniors McKenna Timm, literary magazine editor, and Erin Alpaugh, associate editor, presented on how to start, produce, and promote a literary magazine, under the direction of lit mag adviser Maureen Treadway. Last year’s newspaper adviser Theresa Smith presented “All Bases Covered: Covering Sports.” Ms. Smith, who covered national sports for years, is now senior writer at Grand Canyon University’s Office of Communications and Public Relations.

Students attending the convention on Tuesday along with Timm, Alpaugh and Cadwell were senior Andy Knoll and freshmen Kendall Luther and Deanna Lord. Ms. Carteaux, an AIPA board member, was convention co-coordinator.

Attending the AIPA convention, from left, are Deanna Lord, Kendall Luther, McKenna Timm, Erin Alpaugh, Andy Knoll and Chris Cadwell.